Home > Book Progress > I’m Back

I’m Back

It’s been months since I blogged about writing my book. I’ve been busy writing. That’s good. I’ve “finished”. Now, I’m in the revision process. It’s an epic fantasy, and I mean EPIC. Thus, books like this take a while and mountains of dedication, love, focus, and precious time. I think I’ll be close to knowing when I’ll be finished-finished this summer.

I’ve still not commited to traditional or self-publishing (via my platform alone). I do need to commit to my platform. I was reminded of this today. Bottomline, it’s a business and I’ll be offering a product. That requires another level of attention from me. If I end up self-publishing, I need a presence on the web. I’ve neglected that in the last few months. Non-traditional means will require a lot of dedication and planning before and after I’ve finished the book. So, I might as well keep this blog (and others) up to date and keep building connections and work on some teasers for the book. Why not?

When I blog I feel like I need to write something grand. This is too much pressure. That feeling has kept me from blogging. In the future I will relax and just keep blogging mainly about my writing and perhaps, about the world of Creed of Kings. I will also write a little bit about the process from a rookie’s point of view. I’ve been writing this book seriously since 2009 and quite a few false starts since 2007.

I love to write about movies, music, and books. So, I’ll do more of that as well. It’s all about art and the human desire to create, right? So why not?

The one thing I won’t do is right long blog entries like this one. It chews up too much time making sure I spelled correctly and did not leave words out etc. I’m just going to forgive myself upfront for that…sorry.

  1. curt jarrell
    April 3, 2011 at 5:08 am

    I’m so glad to hear of your progress. I definitely have a publishing home in mind for you if you’re interested. When you’re ready I’d like to talk to you about this. In the mean time, revise, rewrite, rev up. Exciting news!

    • April 3, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      Thanks Curt. I’m humbled by your offer. I would love to talk you about it. But yes, now is the time for the three Rs. Even when I “finish” I know there will be insightful input that will require more revisions.

  2. April 3, 2011 at 5:55 am

    I’m working on the final drafts of my novel, and am hoping to go through the traditional publishing means with an agent and everything, but even doing that I feel I need to build up a web presence. I guess inbetween talking about your writing if you tell us more about you, readers of your blog will feel they know you personally and might be more excited to buy your book when it’s out. But congratulations on finishing your epic fantasy! I love epic fantasies!

    • April 3, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Kati – thanks for your comment. Based on my findings, a writer’s web presence is crucial, indespensible these days. Regarding me: I’ve read a lot of writer’s blogs. I’m usually very different from the typical artsy fartsy writer. 😉 I’m very conservative politically and most writers I find are to the left of Che Guevara (which I find a bit disturbing). I’m kinda like Terry Goodkind in my philosophy but I’m not an Objectivist, which is the philosophy developed/promoted by Ayn Rand. Loved her books, I just don’t agree completely with her premises. Goodkind’s books are rooted in objectivist philosophy. My early influence was C. S. Lewis. Currently, I’m enjoying David Gemmell, particularly his TROY Trilogy.

      Here is more about me: https://artravis.wordpress.com/about/ …it probably needs updating.

      Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to hearing about your success.

  3. April 3, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I was pleasantly surprised to see your note that you’ve finished. Congrats and keep us posted!

    • April 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm

      Thanks Warren. “Finished” means I’ve I maped out to the edges. It’s very thin toward the end as I began to realize I would probably rewrite a lot when I got back to point Z. Some of the late chapters are barely more than notes and synopsis. I have a final scene but it’s very sketchy, like a stick man.

      I visited your blog a while back but I was so focused on writing I did not inquire as to who did your artwork. I’m in desperate need of some artwork if I decide to go non-traditional means, bookcover etc. I have a potential source but I’ve not tapped into it – he is a net-friend working for one of the high profile video game makers. He supervises a team of artist. I don’t think I could afford him. I have so many ideas for the launching of my writer’s website, my hope is to have a talented artist willing to do some pro-bono work in the hopes of getting the work seen/noticed and thus lead to bigger things for that individual. Perhaps it is egotistic for me to think a true talent needs a partnership with me but it’s worth trying.

      The style of book I’m writing will feel more real than most fan-fic. it’s a made up world, that exists only in my imagination but think of a mix between Gladiator, Troy, 300 and Memoirs of a Geisha. No drawves, elves, or fairies but sword and sandal type scenes with Roman/Greek type buildings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I wanna know what do you think?

