Mr. Bell’s books on the writing craft have made a huge difference in my learning curve. Long ago I discovered mood music for writing/imagining scenes. When I read his thoughts on this it was great to see the confirmation to what I was doing. Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard original scores are my favorite soundtrack composers.

My Memories of a Future Life

‘This wonderful, startling alchemy when music meets the writer’s brain’

Once a week I host a writer who uses music as part of their creative process – perhaps to tap into a character, populate a mysterious place, or explore the depths in a pivotal moment. This week’s post is by bestselling suspense author and writing coach James Scott Bell @JamesScottBell

Soundtrack by Bernard Herrmann, Thomas Newman, Carter Burwell, Thomas Newman, Hugo Friedhofer, Mark Isham, Jerry Goldsmith, Alfred Newman, Steely Dan, Steve Miller Band

‘Of all noises,’ Samuel Johnson wrote, ‘I think music is the least disagreeable.’ I’ll go along with that. I like to write in public, mostly at Starbucks, with a little bit of ‘white noise’ around me. But when I have to get deep into a project or scene, I pop on the Bose headphones and fire up iTunes.

View original post 448 more words

Categories: Book Progress
  1. March 29, 2012 at 9:07 am

    I have several of Hans Zimmer, but I don’t know much w/ James Newton Howard. What do you use of his?

    wf

  2. March 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    He colaborated with Hans Zimmer on the Batman soundtracks. He has done MANY soundtracks. he is considered one of the greats. Personally, The Last Airbender is my favorite James Newton Howard soundtrack. I heard the movie was terrible. But, the soundtrack is exceptional. Download it at amazon or iTunes. You can find whole tracks on youtube to see what you like the most.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I wanna know what do you think?

